Skip navigation

I’m beginning this blog in the aftermath of an assault that left me out in the street with a concussion. It’s one of those bad times that has pulled me away from MxO while simultaneously wishing I could immerse myself in my stories. I love to write. Since I was young, I wanted to become a writer. Instead, I am studying physics and working as an engineer. While I enjoy what I do, writing remains my passion. Some day, I will write the stories that are in my head, however I don’t see writing to be a lucrative career for supporting a family. So instead, I do this work and wait for the day that I can retire and write.

The Matrix Online was a surprising opportunity that gave me the opportunity to write for a very interesting audience. When I tell people about my hobby, they tend to think that I’m creating this stuff for a niche group of hardcore Matrix fans. However, I find that many MxO players aren’t actually fanboys of the franchise. I know I never was. I can say that I’ve seen The Matrix less than 10 times in the past 10 years. And that’s including the times I watched it while searching for inspiration or specific canon references.

I have always wanted to write some sort of message for the players of MxO with whom I’ve been interacting for the past 4 years. Due to my unique situation, I am only allowed to write stories for them in this capacity for as long as I remain hidden and secret from them. Rules that were created for people who still played the game and had factions and friends. The last time my player character ever logged into Vector was years ago. Only a few people are still subscribed who even remember him. So I’ve been waiting these years for the day that I quit and can spill my guts to all my virtual pals. Unfortunately, it’s a lot harder for me to quit than one would think. I’ve become a writer junkie and I can’t seem to give up this situation. So while a certain clown was always meant to be my grand finale, somehow an even larger, more involved, and more time-consuming story was born.

While friends and family might complain, I do not. I love writing.

So now I’ve begun an anonymous blog to record my thoughts. While I imagine that there is a small chance someone from MxO might chance across it, I doubt that will be any time soon. Meanwhile, I’ll build up a stockpile of thoughts to share when that fateful day comes. Or maybe I’ll never tell anyone and it will remain a hidden gem lost in the sands of the internet, the answer to my final puzzle.

The reason I’ve always wanted to communicate OOC was simply to tell the players how much I enjoyed their participation and patronage over the years. You’ve all been (mostly) supportive and convinced me that I actually could make it as a writer if I tried, even while having no idea who I was the whole time. However, it’s always been sad to me when a player leaves MxO and I can never say goodbye to them the way I want. One name that abruptly comes to mind is an old Syntax player by the name of Nathics. He and the Joker used to have lengthy exchanges of poetry. While some of those exchanges were included in the Joker nodes, I never had a chance to tell him how much fun I had trying to think up rhymed responses that matched his timing and structure while still being a proper Joker-ish comeback.

Likewise, there are the funny moments I’ve had over the years. One Sunday morning long past, one of the Jokers was left idling on a Richland rooftop while I showered. Nobody was online and there wasn’t anyone for the Joker to toy with, so I deemed it an appropriate time to shower. 20 minutes later, I returned to the screen to find a crowd of 20 or 30 people encircling the Joker on that rooftop, each and every one demanding something different. I was left with a few panicky moments to try to come up with something to satisfy them. I don’t recall what it was I did. If I went with odds, I’d say it was a backflop suicide, but I know that would probably have pissed off a lot of people so I imagine I did a little Q&A first before doing the deed.

This reminds me of my greatest experience of all time. It is one of those simple pleasures that I do not expect to ever leave me (no matter how many concussions). Nor do I ever expect it to be topped. I’ve spent awhile trying to search for this particular screenshot but I have thousands so I’ll have to edit this in later. The Joker was bantering with two players when one of them, a somewhat new player, said to the Joker “You make me feel like Alice in Wonderland.” That was reward enough for all the time spent in-game “acting” and writing out all those reports. It’s something I’ve held with me ever since and it’s part of what keeps me writing journals and designing puzzles.

It’s getting late and I need to eat and do several physics assignments that were ignored while I was in the hospital. I’d like to give a parting farewell from SgtSteele, Entropi, Stiveston, TheWatchmaker, TheJokerOfSpades, TheJokerOfDiamonds, TheJokerOfClubs, Muse, Shades, CoffinsNail, Mari, Doctor Rajlich, BrickDissuader, SlasherScalpel, Strayshot, MorrisPeterson, Gaia, Kabarr, Caigne, Diced, Phasmata, Kitasu, Kisoku, ToroFurioso, Piqo, Schwartzwald, Alexander, ZAITSOProxy (I cannot take credit for ZAITSO, but I did come up with a new role for him to play), a nameless array of [errors, broken programs, seeker drones, couriers, puppets, bluepills], and the rest that will remain unnamed for fear of spoilers.

Stay safe. Woot, 991 words.

4 Comments

  1. Maybe sooner then you might have thought…. Hope you are feeling better

  2. I hope that now you are ok, and things will get better.

    As i told to a common friend, i think about the mind behind all this wonderful stuffs, is a great artits, cause your works free my mind, your works give me many opportunities to spread my imaginations wings and fly high.

    I wait you back on the dream world hoping you get better and this bad happen will become soon a old and distant memory to forget.

  3. I think some of us have found out about this sooner than you expected ^^. But I believe it is really due to your stories and such that we have found it. You have given my friends and me something fun to do these past months, and we have worked at it diligently (and if we were not that diligent we would not have found it at this point). It has been real fun, it really has. You have also given us pure hell with some of these puzzles, which provided some entertainment as some of the calmest people I have known would go into a small “I CAN’T FIGURE IT OUT” seizure / mental break down episode.

    I would also like to mention that working on your latest puzzles have been (personally) what kept my real interest in the game. I wasn’t smart enough to crack the big stuff with the Jokers, as most of it confused me (and some still does when someone volunteers to explain it to me). But this chapter of your story provided almost anyone with cunning and espionage to even play a small role in retrieval of enemy possessions.

    All in all, it has been a blast, pleasure, and honor to have been involved, and I will be involved as long as I can comprehend XD.

    Exiting stage right,
    – Mr. Gold

  4. You don’t happen to have the details for Entropi and Brick Dissuader, do you?


Leave a Reply

